W for Whole Wheat Rosemary Garlic Bread

hummus, baked potato and whole meal bread

As a part of Blogging Marathon for the month of September we are blogging with alphabets. Must say that thanks to this marathon lot of my bookmarks got nudged to the done list! There are some that are loved a lot and I am asked to make them again.

This Whole Wheat Rosemary Garlic Bread that I had bookmarked from here falls in the repeat category.

I have tried following the recipe but used substitutes for garlic powder, fresh rosemary and bread flour. The bread was awesome! The girls were at it as soon as it was out of the oven. whole wheat

Prep Time    15 minutes

First fermentation: 70 minutes

Second fermentation: 30 minutes Bake

Time    50 minutes

Serves    1 loaf

Ingredients:
  • 3 Cup/450g White Whole Wheat Flour
  • ½ Cup/80g Maida Or APF
  • 1 ¼ Tsp Salt
  • 1 Tblsp/12 G Active Yeast
  • 6 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 Tblsp /13g Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup /31g Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 Tsp Dry Rosemary
  • 1 ½ +1/3 Cup Warm Water
Method:
  • In a bowl add the sugar, and the warm water. Sprinkle the yeast and dissolve the yeast. Let it stand in a warm corner for some time say 10-15 minutes or till the yeast becomes frothy.
  • Meanwhile mix well the garlic, salt, rosemary olive oil in the flours.   Gradually add water to form sticky dough. In case you are using your mixer knead using the using dough hook to for about 7-8 minutes or until the dough become smooth and soft.
  • Transfer the dough to well greased plastic container and let is rise for about 70 minutes or until the dough becomes more than double in volume.
  • Transfer the risen dough to well floured bench and gradually punch down the air and roll it into a loaf.
  • Transfer the shaped loaf into the well greased loaf pan and set aside for second rise of 30 minutes.
  • By the end of the second rise preheat oven to 375 F/190ᵒC. And bake the bread for about 45-50 minutes. Cool the bread in the rack for minimum 2 hours to cutting.Enjoy the bread as sandwich or with any winter soup.P.S. since my bread was cut immediately after it came out of the oven it’s not come out as well. The centre was softer.

Have a look at my bread slice with Hummus spread on it. I though of taking the pic at the last possible moment.

IMG_4082

This is my entry for alphabet W. Come back to see X tomorrow. Here are the rest of my friends.

Courtesy: Preeti

Courtesy: Preeti

Linking to Yeastspotting

Hi! First time here?
Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here.
If you are my regular visitor then a big Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!! I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

Archana

Tagged: , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “W for Whole Wheat Rosemary Garlic Bread

  1. manjula September 27, 2013 at 9:27 pm Reply

    wow love the texture of the bread has come out so perfect and flavorful one :)

  2. swathiiyer September 27, 2013 at 9:37 pm Reply

    Delicious bread Archana, Very nice, I can’t have enough of this bread really yumm. Can I put in my face book page.

  3. Srivalli September 27, 2013 at 11:04 pm Reply

    That’s one great loaf Archana..and I see that your potatoes have been a constant feature..it surely makes me want to try both..very nice..

  4. Priya September 28, 2013 at 5:21 am Reply

    Bread with garlic and herbs my favourite., such a fantastic bread..

  5. Chef Mireille September 29, 2013 at 9:09 am Reply

    perfectly baked bread

  6. harini September 29, 2013 at 7:24 pm Reply

    Good one! I am yet to do some serious bread baking at home!

  7. Sowmya September 30, 2013 at 11:58 am Reply

    so delicious and very well made Bread!!!

    Sowmya

  8. Pavani October 1, 2013 at 8:26 am Reply

    Perfectly made bread. It sounds so flavorful with the garlic and rosemary.

  9. Preeti Garg October 1, 2013 at 10:57 pm Reply

    Amazing and delicious platter.

  10. cookingwithsapana October 2, 2013 at 12:09 am Reply

    The bread looks wonderful . Loved the addition of rosemary ….

  11. Sandhya Karandikar October 2, 2013 at 4:21 pm Reply

    Wonderful loaf of bread. Looks soft. cant believe it is whole wheat. Must try it.

  12. Rajani October 7, 2013 at 10:23 pm Reply

    I like the sound of garlic powder/garlic here…very nice and different flavor! Will remember this post for sure the next time I take the bread pan out :-)!

  13. veena October 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm Reply

    oh wow!!Love the garlic flavour…looks wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

