Oats n Tilwale Aloo

IMG_5088

When I was blogging with alphabets I had pored and pored over all the scraps of papers that I have collected in the last 25 years of my married life.

This is the time I discovered that some of the books that I have are unopened and unread.  I know it’s a criminal waste but then I had made up my mind that I will be using them all.

The idea was catch hold of one book and make all the makeable (is that a word?) recipes.

So what better than Cooking from Cookbook Challenge

So I started with Cooking and more of Tarla Dalal.  From this edition I have made Subzi and  daal already but today’s target was Tilwale Aloo.

Wondering how my til got so big? For the person who does not know what til is its Sesame seeds.

Well I had made Aloo Tikki and as per the demand coated them with oats for one girl and for the other no coating. There were about 2 tbsp of oats leftover and so instead of throwing the oats out I added them to the veggie. Try it. It tastes good.

Let’s make

Oats and Tilwale Aloo 
Recipe Source: Cooking & more by Tarla Dalal
Ingredients:
  • 3 potatoes
  • ½ tsp jeera/cumin seeds
  • ½ tsp mustard seeds
  • 3-4 curry leaves
  • 1 tsp garlic and coriander paste
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • ½ tsp red chilli powder
  • 2 tsp til/sesame seeds, roasted
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • 1 tsp lemon juice ( I did not use)
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • Salt to taste
To Garnish:
  • Coriander
  • Green chillies
  • Red chillies

Method:

  • Cut the potatoes in big chunks I made 1/8 pieces out of them.
  • In a small bowl add water till the potatoes are immersed add salt mix well and put them in the cooker for 1 whistle. (I did this as my potatoes are new and they take ages to boil you could boil them in an open pan).
  • Drain and keep aside.
  • Heat the oil in a non-stick pan add jeera/cumin seeds, mustard seeds and curry leaves.
  •  The seeds will splutter now add the garlic and coriander paste and stir for a few minutes till you get a nice aroma.
  • Add the potatoes, turmeric, and red chilli powder. Mix well .adjust the seasoning sauté for 4-5 minutes.
  • Add ½ cup water cover and cook on low flame till all the water evaporates or the potatoes are cooked.
  • Remove from fire add the sesame seeds; in case you are using add the lemon juice and oats. Mix well.
  • Garnish with coriander and chillies serve hot with rotis.

By the way this tastes good in the tiffin box.

This goes for the January Week 1, Cooking from Cookbook Challenge  Group

Hi! First time here?

Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here.

If you are my regular visitor then Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!!

I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

 Archana

Tagged: , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Oats n Tilwale Aloo

  1. Namrata January 5, 2014 at 1:02 pm Reply

    oats n alu? Never thought of it. Nice recipe Archana.

  2. Chef Mireille January 6, 2014 at 2:01 am Reply

    how interesting to add oats in there

  3. Arthy Shama January 6, 2014 at 11:48 am Reply

    That looks wonderful :) An fusion, I would say :)

  4. Nalini January 6, 2014 at 9:32 pm Reply

    This curry sounds inviting and delicious…..

  5. Shruti January 7, 2014 at 5:10 am Reply

    Lovely!!! Oats I never thought of using with Aloo ever… But this looks delish for sure :)

  6. Srivalli January 7, 2014 at 2:47 pm Reply

    That surely sounds so good Archana…never thought of oats on a aloo though I know till tastes great…good one!

  7. Suja ilangovan January 11, 2014 at 12:50 am Reply

    Nice & yummy aaloo, Archana.

  8. Poornima January 16, 2014 at 10:13 am Reply

    wow… til, oats and aloo.. who would have thought that a dish can be made with them… interesting combination. Good one.

  9. Pavani January 23, 2014 at 1:44 am Reply

    Love the addition of oats and sesame seeds to potatoes.. Yummy..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

