Spicy Corn and Cabbage Rava Idlis

IMG_5124

My friend is a Tupperware distributor. Every month she regularly gives me the flyer she receives from them. My interest is not is on sale but what recipes are given there. J

I have copied quite a few of the recipes but this was for the first time tried one out.

Today I decided to try Rava Idlis. Well I do try them out regularly you may expect me to be an expert in making them but in actual fact we, the Rava idli and I do not agree.  The Rava Idlis do not agree that and I am the boss and I expect them to turn out in a particular fashion.

Either the idlis are soggy or they are flat pancakes. So when these came out so beautiful I was thrilled. 

So thrilled that I carried them to work just to admire them!!

Crazy am I not? But that is bound to happen when you keep promising yourself every time” last time I am making these idlis. “

These make just 21 idlis so plan according to your needs and Enjoy!!

Spicy Corn and Cabbage Rava Idlis

Recipe Source: Tupperware Flyer
Yield: 21 idlis
Ingredients:
  • 2 ½ cups rava
  • 1 ½ cup cabbage
  • ½ cup frozen corn
  • 4 cups buttermilk
  • 3 tblspn oil ( I use rice barn oil)
  • 1 tsp urid daal
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 2 tsp eno fruit salt
  • ¼ tsp oil for greasing
  • 1 tblspn hot and sweet sauce
  • Salt to taste
 Method:
  • Combine rava, buttermilk, salt and 2 tblspn oil in a bowl and set aside for at least 30 minutes.
  • Heat the remaining 1 tblspn oil add the mustard. Once the mustard crackles add the urid daal.
  • Add the corn and cabbage once the urid dal becomes reddish. Sauté for a minutes.
  • Add the hot and sweet sauce. Mix well.
  • Pour the mixture over the rava batter and mix well.
  • Add eno and mix well. Sprinkle water if needed. (I did not).
  • Mix well. Spoon in the greased idli mould and steam for 20 minutes.
  • Serve hot with onion and tomato chutney.

This goes for the January Week 3, Cooking from Cookbook Challenge  Group

Hi! First time here?

Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here.

If you are my regular visitor then Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!!

I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

 Archana

Tagged: , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Spicy Corn and Cabbage Rava Idlis

  1. Namrata January 21, 2014 at 10:28 am Reply

    lovely take on mundane rave idlis.

  2. Chef Mireille January 21, 2014 at 11:51 am Reply

    your photos are much improved

  3. PJ January 21, 2014 at 2:09 pm Reply

    Oh yea! I too saved a few of those tupperware brochures just for the recipe :).And adding corn and cabbage sounds delicious.Nice idlis Archana. I am sure you know that I am trying this out for the weekend…

  4. usha January 21, 2014 at 9:17 pm Reply

    I love corn but never tried it in idly. I am sure they taste very good and healthy as well.

  5. Pavani January 23, 2014 at 1:36 am Reply

    Such a yummy looking rava idlis.

  6. Suja ilangovan January 23, 2014 at 9:35 am Reply

    What a flavorful twist to the old fashioned Idli’s! Healthy & tempting, Archana.

  7. Raksha January 24, 2014 at 5:31 pm Reply

    Simply delicious. I too like to go thru recipes on any booklets

  8. Arthy Shama January 26, 2014 at 11:08 pm Reply

    Idly looks wonderful, healthy variation you made :)

  9. JananiRCC January 27, 2014 at 3:14 am Reply

    awesome yaar healthy idly must try on my list now.

  10. Poornima January 27, 2014 at 12:07 pm Reply

    lovely twist to regular idlis… will try it soon

  11. Anjana @ At The Corner Of Happy & Harried February 4, 2014 at 9:12 pm Reply

    Such a unique and healthy combination!

  12. Sreevalli E (Ammaji Kitchen) March 5, 2014 at 8:24 am Reply

    Healthy & delicious idli.. So tempting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

