Gobi Fry

Gobi Fry 

I was to make Gobi Masallum from the the poor Gobi that did not see the inside of my fridge due to my laziness.

Who will not be lazy yaar I have been home for the last 1 week as my kid has exams and I am quite enjoying the relaxed pace in which my life is progressing.That too in March. Bahar Hai!! But that will end this Tuesday when I join back work! All good things do end I guess!! So sad!:-(

Coming back to Gobi Masallum… that I was supposed to make! Well after making Puranpoli or let us rephrase it getting the Bai to make them I was in no mood! Just tired and bored!!  ha-ha!!

But since I had already soaked it in the usual salt and turmeric water I had to do something out of it. So I let it dry out still thinking I will make the masallum even if it kills me.But my heart was not in it, I was also out of tomatoes and in no mood to go to the market for them. I had applied the marinade to the cauliflower and let it stand for some time when my husband walked in and tasted the cauliflower. He vetoed the idea of masallum and told me to serve it as it is, dont fry also . (He is a great fan of garlic so I end up putting more than normal people do).

So I made them into this fry as I knew the rest of us cannot stand the taste of so much raw garlic.

Ingredients:
about 1 kg Cauliflower or gobi, cut into florets
2 onions, roughly chopped
5 cloves garlic
1 inch piece of ginger
2 green Chillies (adjust as per taste)
Coriander
1 tblspn red chilli powder

¼ tsp jeera/ cumin seeds powder
¼ tsp coriander powder
2 tblspn tomato ketchup
¼ cup curds (optional)
Oil to fry (about 2-3 tblspns)
½ Capsicum (red and green)
Coriander for garnishing

Gobi Fry just after frying
Method:
1.         Mix the cauliflower with all the ingredients except the oil and let it stand for atleast ½ an hour.
2.         Next in a non-stick pan mix well with the oil.
3.         Cook covered with the lid till you get a nice aroma.
4.         Serve mixed with capsicum. Since we like raw capsicum I have just mixed it but you could toss it in the pan before.
     5.         Serve garnished with coriander and lime. 

Tagged:

11 thoughts on “Gobi Fry

  1. ♥LOVE2COOK♥ March 19, 2011 at 11:37 am Reply

    Irresistible gobi fry! Am drooling 😉

  2. Vimitha Anand March 19, 2011 at 11:41 am Reply

    That is a yummy and mouth watering stir fry…

  3. Now Serving March 19, 2011 at 12:19 pm Reply

    SUPERB looking Gobi Curry! Loving the colors!!!Happy Holi, sweetie!

  4. Reshmi Mahesh March 19, 2011 at 1:31 pm Reply

    Lovely and yummy gobi fry…FunWidFud

  5. SravsCulinaryConcepts March 19, 2011 at 2:12 pm Reply

    Very tempting and delicious !!

  6. Nisa Homey March 19, 2011 at 2:35 pm Reply

    Yummy gobi dear….Happy holi and have a great sunday.

  7. Hamaree Rasoi March 19, 2011 at 4:10 pm Reply

    Excellent looking gobi curry. Very vibrant and colorful.Deepa Hamaree Rasoi

  8. Priya's Feast March 19, 2011 at 5:09 pm Reply

    happy holi to you…

  9. Priya March 19, 2011 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Great looking gobi, mouthwatering here..Happy holi wishes Archana..

  10. divya March 19, 2011 at 8:32 pm Reply

    Yumm, truly inviting and tempting..

  11. Ramya March 20, 2011 at 7:15 am Reply

    Gobi fry looks spicy and yumm..Happy holi to u and family..

Leave a Reply

