Kavli Kai or Karvandan che Chutney


Kavli Kai or Karvand  in Kannada and Marathi respectively is  one word has a lot of memories associated with it.

The chutney was the first time I ground something that to on the grinding stone. 
When we used to go the neighbouring colony to play there was “Karvand” bush and all of us use to pluck them and eat these fruits.
Amma used to make some kind out of this I just have a hazy memory of these berries being pricked and then were cooked in the sugar syrup. Only the berries were red and white.
And on our way to Dharwad our native place Pappa used to buy the ripe fruits called Kavli Han in Kannada which are black in colour but sweet and tasty too!!
How I miss those days!!
When I saw the raw Karvand in the market I was excited and not sure of its reception home I brought one measure from the lady.

The chutney is to be made just like Mango chutney the recipe of which is here. Only remove the stalks of the karvand I am not sure you can eat them.A white milky sap oozes out but that is okay.

Taste great with anything !

After I made the chutney I could not stop myself so I had it thus!!

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Kavli Kai or Karvandan che Chutney

  1. Mehjabeen Arif April 23, 2011 at 10:11 pm Reply

    It's always nice to have nice memories.. this is totally new to me.. like the way u spelled it out..

  2. Reshmi Mahesh April 24, 2011 at 1:33 am Reply

    A yummy chutney…looks delicious…

  3. hemalata April 24, 2011 at 2:19 am Reply

    Delicious and mouth-watering chutney,nice preparation.

  4. Nandini April 24, 2011 at 7:10 am Reply

    Very tempting chutney! So irresistibile! Yum!

  5. Hamaree Rasoi April 24, 2011 at 7:52 am Reply

    Chutney looks wonderfully prepared. Very nice pics.Deepa Hamaree Rasoi

  6. Ramya April 24, 2011 at 9:54 am Reply

    That a completely new recipe to me!! looks soo delicious..wud love to try it!!

  7. SravsCulinaryConcepts April 26, 2011 at 1:58 am Reply

    so delicious and very inviting chutney !!

  8. divya April 26, 2011 at 3:05 am Reply

    Very tempting and mouthwatering chutney….

Leave a Reply

