Palak Salad 2

I was to post a soup recipe today but there is a small hitch I have not made it as yet. I cannot decide if I want to make Lung Fung Soup or Hot and Sour as I want a Chinese soup.

Given a choice Hubby will say Sweet Corn, Elder one something exotic which though a challenge is not what I want to make and younger one Tomato Soup. So I am feeling like Atlas right now.

So folks bear with me and try this salad. It’s again, oh no as kids said, palak/spinach   and potatoes but a Tarla Dalal one! Put an end to the girls’ protests too! J

Well I put up with the garlic too just because it was Tarla Dalal recipe! Made a few changes which I have marked. also I have omitted the milk powder as I don’t like the smell of it you can use it if you want about 2 tblspn. 

Ingredients:
10 cloves garlic (original said 100 grms try it if you love garlic)
 1 cup  thick curds
 ½ lemon juice (say 1 table spoon original called for 1/4 cup)
Mustard powder
Salt
Pepper powder (optional my addition)
Sugar (optional my addition)
2 bundles palak/spinach
3 boiled potatoes (the original recipe called for 4 cups baby potatoes)
Cherry tomatoes for garnishing.
Method:
 1.     Generally I Take the curd in big sieve and rest it on a deep bowl in the fridge. First thing in the morning. But about 8.30 am the hung curd is ready for further action.
2.    Cut the palak in long strips and soak in ice water for ½ hour. This makes the leaves crisp.
3.  Mix dressing and chill.
4.  Just before serving mix the potatoes and palak with the dressing.
5.  As I had these tomatoes languishing in the fridge I used them to garnish the salad.
This is my entry for the Blogging marathon Day 5 group 2. Check out the others here.

Linking it to 100 days ofGlobal Food Festival
Archana
Tagged:

18 thoughts on “Palak Salad 2

  1. Hari Chandana October 27, 2011 at 3:19 am Reply

    yummy and delicious salad.. 🙂Indian Cuisine

  2. Pushpa October 27, 2011 at 5:16 am Reply

    Refreshing and yummy.Happy Diwali Archana!!

  3. Hamaree Rasoi October 27, 2011 at 5:53 am Reply

    Delicious looking salad dear. Lovely preparation.Deepa Hamaree Rasoi

  4. Amy October 27, 2011 at 5:54 am Reply

    looks yummy & Wish you a Happy Diwali!!

  5. Amy October 27, 2011 at 6:06 am Reply

    looks yummy & Wish you a Happy Diwali!!

  6. DivyaRaj October 27, 2011 at 2:26 pm Reply

    looks so delicious and tempting…

  7. Archana October 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm Reply

    Thanks girls

  8. tori October 27, 2011 at 5:53 pm Reply

    Love the look of this- would be so great as a mid week supper. Thank you!

  9. Priya October 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm Reply

    Wat a healthy and delicious salad..

  10. Smitha October 27, 2011 at 9:24 pm Reply

    salad looks healthy n yummy!…nice twist from regular ones!

  11. R October 27, 2011 at 11:01 pm Reply

    the dressing has interesting flavors, looks so healthy. abt the soup.. hmmm.. my choice is hot and sour soup, luv that one for sure 🙂

  12. Harini October 28, 2011 at 12:25 am Reply

    Interesting!

  13. Now Serving October 28, 2011 at 12:52 am Reply

    palak, aloos yum – that looks so delicious 🙂 sorry just catching up with my fellow bloggers- 24 hours is not enough in a day!!! Awesome salad Arch 🙂

  14. aipi October 28, 2011 at 2:52 am Reply

    I love how creamy n fresh it looks!USMasala

  15. Vardhini October 28, 2011 at 5:34 am Reply

    Yummy and creamy .. love palak.VardhiniEvent: Halloween Fiesta

  16. Jay October 28, 2011 at 10:56 am Reply

    wow…salad sounds scrumptiously healthy n tasty archana..;)Tasty Appetite

  17. Gayathri Kumar October 28, 2011 at 11:24 am Reply

    Salad looks so nice…

  18. Srivalli October 29, 2011 at 2:30 pm Reply

    I have never tried with palak..good to know that!

Leave a Reply

