Water Melon Rind Preserve

Every Sunday hubby and I make a trip to the local market.

It’s become a ritual. But this Sunday he went alone as I had a meeting to attend and he came back with a watermelon which he cut immediately. The red fruit went in the bowl and the white and the green skin in a plate ready to be thrown out.

Just as he was about to throw out the rind I told him that I would like to try out a preserve with them. Since I was visibly tired he asked me not make anything but since I insisted he kept a few of them.
I needed just 2 quarter rinds to make my delicious preserve the quantity I got is this bowl. To make the preserve remove the green skin and all the pink and red parts of the watermelon. Yes you need only the white of the watermelon.

The original recipe is here.
Ingredients:
1 cup diced watermelon rind (the whites only)
1/8 cup lemon juice (could have used a little lesser)
2 tsp lemon zest
1/8 cup water
¼ cup +1/3 cup sugar
1 small bottle 
Method:
1.    Combine the diced water melon rind, lemon juice, lemon zest, water and ¼ cup sugar in thick bottomed kadhai/wok and boil over high.
2.    Stir till the sugar dissolves.
3.    Once the sugar dissolves reduce the heat & simmer covered on low heat till the melon is half cooked.
4.    Add the rest of the sugar and cook uncovered till the melon is translucent. I did this because I checked the syrup out and it tasted sweet also I wanted a bit more syrup. You could avoid this step.
5.    Store in a washed and sun dried bottle. (Mine did not reach the bottle).  J
Here I would like to thank Digamber and Prashant for trusting me and eating the preserve. They tried to guess what it was made of but did not succeed. Better luck next time boys.
Now I am thinking of making the preserve in red chili powder. Maybe next time we buy watermelon. Any suggestions about how to go about it?


Sending this to Vatsala’s Pot luck party

Hosting an event which I am calling Back to our Roots Also hosting for Nov’11 Veggie Food for the Month_Raw Banana. Please do send me your entries.



Archana
17 thoughts on “Water Melon Rind Preserve

  1. Prathibha November 23, 2011 at 12:15 pm Reply

    nice n unique preserve..looks yumm

  2. Amy November 23, 2011 at 3:04 pm Reply

    wow!!This is a good idea,I am sure it is yummy,watermelon is one of my favourite,next time I don't want to throw the rind…Thanks for sharing with Midweek Fiesta

  3. Nisha S. November 23, 2011 at 4:29 pm Reply

    Niceeeeee! I once made mateeri ki sabji (a sabji with the watermelon rinds) & now I'm definitely gonna try this one! (Removing the green skin is a pain, isn't it?! :P)Bookmarked!Spusht.blogspot.com

  4. saffronstreaks November 23, 2011 at 4:59 pm Reply

    now this is something really unique. looks highly tempting

  5. Priya November 23, 2011 at 6:15 pm Reply

    Wow fabulous looking preserve,thanks for sharing.

  6. Sushma Mallya November 23, 2011 at 7:01 pm Reply

    Interesting recipe,I haven't tried this till now….but loved the texture here looks so good, must be tangy and nice with the addition of lemon:)

  7. Sobha Shyam November 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm Reply

    wow, so innovative dear, preserves from watermelon rind..fabulous..

  8. aipi November 23, 2011 at 9:33 pm Reply

    Great way to use up the rinds! I especially love how glossy it looks 🙂USMasala

  9. Vatsala. November 23, 2011 at 11:03 pm Reply
  10. Pushpa November 24, 2011 at 2:24 am Reply

    Looks refreshing and yummy.

  11. Sensible Vegetarian November 24, 2011 at 5:35 am Reply

    Very innovative recipe, looks fantastic.

  12. Kaveri November 24, 2011 at 8:57 am Reply

    A very new preserve..looks goodHerbs & Flowers: Spring Onions

  13. Prathima Rao November 24, 2011 at 1:29 pm Reply

    Interesting & unique preserve.. ;)Prathima RaoPrats Corner

  14. Vatsala. November 24, 2011 at 7:00 pm Reply
  15. Archana November 25, 2011 at 4:51 pm Reply

    Thanks all of you.

  16. Now Serving November 29, 2011 at 3:43 am Reply

    wow that looks delicious!!!!! somewhat like PETA

  17. Roxana GreenGirl December 5, 2011 at 11:20 am Reply

    oh my, i remember I had once water melon preserve. Tasted so good! I'm gonna keep the recipe and make some next year when watermelon is in season here. Thanks!!!!p.s. if you don't have fresh cranberries you can use the dry ones or other dried fruits (raisins, currants) or even chopped nuts

Leave a Reply

