Mere Attithi Series #3 Cherry Cookies

One of my first chats on emerging out of cocoon of anonymous blogger was Nisa Homey. You do know Nisa right? She blogs at Cooking is Easy that she says” happened in March 2010” and she does make it look easy!!


Let me tell you a bit about her, as she is my guest in this series today!
 Nisa is pronounced as Nisha which is means night. She is a law graduate but a stay at home mom to her very cute kids Nidhi and Cheriyan and of course here very supportive husband. Nisa was born and brought up in the capital city of Kerala, Trivandrum.  She now lives in Calicut (Kozhikode), Kerala.

Nisa is passionate about cooking and believes that cooking should be easy and fun. Fun part she believes can come when you know the exact details of a recipe. Nisa claims that she does not have the patience to read a long recipe (so also me Nisa I just skip, skip and skip into a mess) so Nisa makes her recipes as simple as possible. The best part is she has a pictorial. 😉

One thing that impresses me about Nisa is she uses and cooks with things which are available locally and to make use of whatever is available in her pantry. Do check out her where she has cookedusing the coconut shell!!

 To quote Nisa,” I hate to make cakes with expensive imported chocolate…so my cookies and cakes are mostly with Cadbury’s cocoa powder.  I mostly cook with the spices that are available locally. …I am wary of expensive chocolate…I think food should be accessible….”

What you see at Nisa place is mostly everyday food, traditional Kerala food, cakes, cookies, bread. Traditional recipes are of course from her mom and mom-in law, aunts, sis-in-laws, cousins, and some are Nisa own inventions.

Now with all this don’t you think Nisa must have featured somewhere someplace? She has so do check these links out…

Kerala Beef Ularthiya on www.recipeus.com
 Best Dish Award by Kerala Kitchen  for my Fish Molee Recipe:
http://ramyasrecipe.blogspot.in/2012/05/kerala-kitchen-2012-event-roundup.html
  My fish fingers were featured on Allfreecopycatrecipes.com. Click on this link to view my recipe http://www.allfreecopycatrecipes.com/Seafood-Entrees/Homemade-Fish-Fingers/ct/1#
 Boil and Bake Fruit Cake- Featured on CookEatShare.com. Click on this link to view my recipe.
http://cookeatshare.com/recipes/boil-and-bake-fruit-cake-step-by-step-606099
 Chickpea Yogurt Salad- Featured on Miz Helen’s Full Plate Thursday. Click on the link below:
http://mizhelenscountrycottage.blogspot.com/
 Versatile blogger award from Sonali Pradhan
http://onlyfishrecipes.blogspot.in/2012/02/coconut-coriander-fish-fry-and-more.html#axzz1mZFC4m4m

and my personal favourite is the one featured in Foodieblogroll.com


Nisa’s personal favourite on her blog isChocolate crinkles (mine too) and the most visited is Chicken Butter Masala do check it out girls…  I am sure we will have plenty more coming from Nisa as she plans to blog as long as she cooks!

My favourite is Garlic bread rolls  which was my first successful attempt at baking bread, not to forget Bread the  Tangzhong Method!!

Now enough of my blah, blah lets get down to Nisa recipe today, which I am sure you have guessed is a bake…

So here she is,  ladies, in her own words Nisa of Cooking is Easy with her

 Cherry Cookies


Hi everyone I am Nisa Homey from Cooking Is Easy and it is so wonderful to be on Mad Scientist’s Kitchen today! I was really excited when Archana asked me to do a guest post for her…my first guest post…so naturally more excited than ever. Since Archana favored a baking recipe, I immediately started thinking of making some fun twists to making some cherry cookies. Just the other day, while visiting the local bakery I bought some cherries on an impulse without thinking what I will make with it….for just Rs 20/ INR….some 50 gm or so….once I reached home I looked at the cherries and they back at me for I don’t know how long….and thus these cherry cookies were born in my oven in my tiny weeny kitchen.

I decided to chop up the cherries with the help of my food processor and was eager to see how my cookies will turn out to be….
The cookies turned out to be crunchy…..and kids loved this ruby studded cookies….
This is my basic butter cookies recipe…the egg yolk is a must, do not skip it……you can also try other variations like adding chocolate chips, nuts, tutti frutti……and Elsy, if you are reading this thank you for giving me this recipe.


So lets get baking!
Ingredients:
Flour: 200 gm.
Butter: 100 gm/1 stick.
Powdered Sugar: 100 gm.
Baking powder: 1/4 tsp.
Egg yolk: 1.
Vanilla essence: 1 tsp.
Cherries: 150 gm.
Method:

Butter should be at room temperature. Cream butter with a whisk to make it soften. Add powdered sugar and cream well.


Add the egg yolk and cream again. Add vanilla essence, mix.

Add the sifted flour and baking powder and mix well. Use your hands to gather the dough.

I chopped the cherries in my food processor.

Love the colour contrast.

Simply knead with hand to bring the dough together.

I love butter paper they are a life saver for me….roll the dough into small rounds and place them on top of butter paper two inch apart. And bake them in a preheated oven at 180 degree C for 20 min or until the sides have slightly browned and center is still soft to touch.

Or if you like to be really crunchy can bake for another 5 to 10 min. 
Baked and ready!!

Store in air tight containers….it will keep for 2 weeks…

YUM!

Nisa
Yes Nisa they will keep if we let them stay in the container!! Thanks a lot dear I love these cookies.

 Here are my links t the first two in this series

All rights reserved on photographs and written content are copy-written @The Mad Scientist’s Kitchen!! unless mentioned. Please Ask First
  Photobucket

Tagged:

14 thoughts on “Mere Attithi Series #3 Cherry Cookies

  1. Priya August 30, 2012 at 8:35 pm Reply

    Glad to know more about Nisa, never know that she is a law graduate. Btw cookies looks damn cute and attractive.

  2. Julie August 30, 2012 at 9:32 pm Reply

    Colorful yummy cookies..lovely guest post!!

  3. Follow foodie August 31, 2012 at 12:24 am Reply
  4. runnergirlinthekitchen.blogspot.com August 31, 2012 at 3:00 am Reply

    Thanks for sharing so much about Nisa and her passion for cooking from simple ingredients. I immediately visited her site and loved the creation out of a coconut shell.. brilliant!Getting back to the post – Cookies are delish!

  5. Priti S August 31, 2012 at 4:24 am Reply

    Looks yum…

  6. Nisa Homey August 31, 2012 at 4:57 am Reply

    Thank you Archana…I am so glad I could be a part of your new series..

  7. Maayeka August 31, 2012 at 6:35 am Reply

    So cute and beautiful cookies.nice to know about Nisha!

  8. Vijayalakshmi Dharmaraj August 31, 2012 at 8:52 am Reply

    nice guest post… cookies looks so yumm…VIRUNTHU UNNA VAANGA

  9. Ramya August 31, 2012 at 1:55 pm Reply

    What a nice intro archana:-) The cookies r a treat to eyes Nisa:-)

  10. sneh August 31, 2012 at 2:45 pm Reply

    Good to know about Nisa, lovely cookies!

  11. nayana August 31, 2012 at 5:42 pm Reply

    Delicious cookies, nice to know about Nisa……..http://nayanas-kitchen-kreations.blogspot.in

  12. Kalyan P September 2, 2012 at 12:04 pm Reply

    looks so healthy & delicious…mouthwatering!

  13. mjskit September 2, 2012 at 10:28 pm Reply

    These cookies do look fabulous!! I've never had cherry cookies nor even seen any, so what a unique recipe! Love it! Great post you two!

  14. Shanthi September 5, 2012 at 4:37 am Reply

    Very yummy…looks perfect. Would like to have it now…

Leave a Reply

