Spring Onion Flowers

Spring onion flowers are made out of the spring onion bulbs. These look pretty and bloom faster that the carnations.

flowers sp

To make the spring onion flowers remove the greens in such a way that you can comfortably hold the spring onion bulb remove the root too well else your flower will not open well. Take a look at this one.

With a very sharp knife cut the onion from the root towards the green.  Then once again cut perpendicular to this cut. Repeat till you cover the whole onion. Now drop it in ice cold water. I wanted to colour these a lovely yellow and pink but since the colours were used up in oil and water project headed by Akanksha I had to keep them   plain white. These need about 3 hours in the fridge.

flowers sp 1

Attach them to skewers and use them with the carnations for your table decoration.

flowers all

This is my entry for the  month long Blogging Marathon under the heading Art & Craft!

Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM#27

BM Logo by Priti

Hi! First time here? Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here. If you are my regular visitor then Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!! I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me onTwitter too!

Archana

Tagged:

15 thoughts on “Spring Onion Flowers

  1. Vaishali Sabnani April 27, 2013 at 8:24 am Reply

    very pretty flowers ..they are simple to prepare yet look so beautiful..one of my fav garnish!!..and you could have used beet root or turmeric to color them..instead of food colors.

  2. pumpkinfarmfood April 27, 2013 at 9:22 am Reply

    lovely flowers, even i make them often, i also add a few drops of lemon juice in the cold water to take away the stink

  3. Priya April 27, 2013 at 1:31 pm Reply

    Omg, pretty and damn cute flowers..Beautiful garnish..

  4. Runnergirlinthekitchen April 27, 2013 at 3:43 pm Reply

    Very very pretty… make such a lovely center piece!

  5. Srivalli April 27, 2013 at 6:25 pm Reply

    Looks so pretty Archana..

  6. harini April 28, 2013 at 7:15 pm Reply

    Very pretty!

  7. Nandini April 29, 2013 at 12:37 pm Reply

    This is so interesting. I’ve never tried fruit and veg carving.these would look lovely on the dinner table when we have guests over. I’ll give this a shot sometime

  8. pinksocks April 30, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

    Sooo cute they look.

  9. Rajani April 30, 2013 at 6:02 pm Reply

    these look so cute…I wish I had the patience to try them!

  10. nalini April 30, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

    cute looking flowers,wonderfully made…

  11. Pavani May 2, 2013 at 1:46 am Reply

    Wow, I couldn’t even tell that those beauties were made from spring onions.. Good job..

  12. preeti2kitchen May 2, 2013 at 5:10 pm Reply

    lovely

  13. veena May 2, 2013 at 10:49 pm Reply

    very very pretty. I wish i was as creative:-)

  14. Suma Gandlur May 23, 2013 at 11:16 pm Reply

    They look pretty.

Leave a Reply

