B for Baked Potato

baked potato 1

We are at Blogging Marathon are blogging with alphabets this month. Yesterday was the first day with “A”, today a new day with the next alphabet “B”!

The choice for the letter “B” in the Blogging Marathon was over before it began.

It was decided in just 2 minutes in our family trip down to Pachgini.   It was my younger daughter’s choice “Baked Potatoes!!”

For once I was not breaking my head over what to make but how to make it!  For when I googled I had some many recipes about Baked Potatoes. I was like a kid in the sweets shop. Each recipe seemed better than the next one.

Finally I stuck to the basics for a simple reason. I have never tasted baked potato so I have no idea what it should taste like, if it is not acceptable to the girls palate I will be left behind with a baby that will have to be binned.

To bake potatoes please take the precaution of pricking the potatoes all over as this will help the steam to escape and you will not have accidents.

You can bake potatoes by either wrapping them in foil or baking them directly in a hot oven.  In the first way the jacket is not crisp other than that there is no difference in the two methods.

I choose to bake them directly.  In most of the recipes that I saw there were large potatoes used I preferred to use medium sized it reduced my cooking time to about ½ an hour.

Bake them at 250°C till they are done. The best way to test if the potatoes are done is piercing them with a sharp knife. But I prefer to go by the nose. They are done you cannot miss the aroma.

Once you get them out of the over carefully scoop out a little of the potato and add a dollop of cream cheese. My daughter has told me to add Amul butter first then top it with cream cheese next time .

baked potato

Enjoy!!!

If you want to make cream cheese at home check here.

The others in this series of Blogging Marathon by alphabets yesterday’s alphabet was

A –Aliva-che-ladoo

Do come back tomorrow for C….

Check out the other Marathoners here.

bm32s (300x111)

Hi! First time here?

Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here.

If you are my regular visitor then a big Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!! I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

Archana

Tagged: , , , ,

34 thoughts on “B for Baked Potato

  1. KP September 3, 2013 at 5:57 am Reply

    Baked potato is a delicious item.A good choice.

  2. manjula September 3, 2013 at 7:25 am Reply

    wow this baked potatoes looks scrumptious and yumm., Loving it !!

  3. Chef Mireille September 3, 2013 at 7:43 am Reply

    Baked potatoes are very common here but I’ve never seen it with cream cheese on top. Sour cream or cheddar cheese is usually more common

  4. Pavani September 3, 2013 at 7:56 am Reply

    Baked potato is probably one of the most eaten dish here in US.
    Your version looks delicious.

  5. pumpkinfarmfood September 3, 2013 at 8:31 am Reply

    i planned alphabet J with this recipe earlier jacket potato…but the calories in it stopped me…i can watch this picture for hours together there are memories attached…yours looks beautiful

  6. Suma Gandlur September 3, 2013 at 8:35 am Reply

    Lovely choice. Baked potato with cheese is my kids’ favorite. 🙂

  7. cookingwithsapana September 3, 2013 at 10:35 am Reply

    I am always in for potatoes and these baked ones are looking superb!

  8. Srivalli September 3, 2013 at 11:46 am Reply

    I am yet to try this Archana, now I am seriously tempted

  9. Sowmya September 3, 2013 at 11:52 am Reply

    love this any day for breakfast… simple and elegant!!

    Sowmya

  10. Preeti Garg September 3, 2013 at 12:08 pm Reply

    This baked potatoes specially top with cream cheese look fabulous .

  11. Kalyani September 3, 2013 at 1:21 pm Reply

    winters and baked potatoes… yummy combo…

  12. Priya September 3, 2013 at 1:40 pm Reply

    Omg,ur baked potatoes are just torturing me..Wish i make some for lunch rite now..

  13. Vaishali Sabnani September 3, 2013 at 3:47 pm Reply

    Archana, no need to scoop. Just cut it criss cross, dump a chunk of butter and then the cream cheese..ooooh..my mouth is watering…while in London, I made these very often and relished these to the core..totally addictive..and thanks for reminding me this recipe.looks vey inviting.

    • themadscientistskitchen September 3, 2013 at 9:55 pm Reply

      Okay will do that next time. The girls loved it so did my father did not offer it to FIL as his sugar was swinging up and down.

  14. Sandhya Karandikar September 3, 2013 at 6:19 pm Reply

    Winter special in our house along with onion and sweet potatoes. Who can resist these baked potatoes.?

  15. harini September 3, 2013 at 6:58 pm Reply

    I initially had this in my list but changed in the last min. This is so popular at home!

  16. pinksocks September 3, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

    Oooooh the Sin. Love love love the pics.

  17. foodiliciousnan September 3, 2013 at 10:23 pm Reply

    Nice! used to be so tempted when reading about this thing in my childhood novels. Will try once Sept BM is over! That cheese running down the sides…mmmm…

  18. Janani September 3, 2013 at 10:59 pm Reply

    I so love this recipe on Friday night is best for making this relax in front of tv and enjoy this sinful potatoes so yumm.

  19. Chitz September 4, 2013 at 1:49 am Reply

    Wow, perfect.. Makes me drool & crave for some right away.. Perfect getaway !

  20. Sreevalli K Emani September 4, 2013 at 4:04 am Reply

    Tempting dish… I remember my husband ordering a garden potato & we both just gobbled it greedily..

  21. Gayathri Kumar September 4, 2013 at 8:04 am Reply

    Looking absolutely delicious Archana…

  22. PJ September 4, 2013 at 8:35 am Reply

    My daughter saw this and has ‘ordered’ me to make them! Surely gona try. Nice one Archana…

  23. nayana September 4, 2013 at 10:09 am Reply

    love the baked pototoes, I though sprinkle little pepper powder over them with amul butter….

  24. Sandhya Ramakrishnan September 4, 2013 at 10:11 pm Reply

    Love the oozing cream cheese on top! That would have made it extra rich. i have had them with sour cream, but not with cream cheese.

  25. veena September 4, 2013 at 11:14 pm Reply

    totally addictive and that cream cheese….drooling here

  26. saras October 3, 2013 at 2:59 am Reply

    Delicious baked potatoes..looks awesome..

  27. […] B Baked potato […]

  28. L for Lasagne January 7, 2014 at 9:27 pm Reply

    […] B Baked potato […]

  29. L for Lasagne | July 25, 2015 at 6:02 pm Reply

    […] B Baked potato […]

  30. R for Rasgulla | November 8, 2015 at 10:13 pm Reply

    […] B Baked potato […]

Leave a Reply

