Eggless Pumpkin Yeasted Bread

bread 3

We at Baking Partners are this month due to Halloween Baking with Pumpkin. The choice was either bread or loaf starring Pumpkin.  We could make any one of the two recipe. The recipes are suggested by Tamy of www.threesidesofcrazy.com. This one was a relief to read about and make after the Kronuts. In fact wanted to make both but then I just do not have the time. So the loaf is postponed to later. Because of blogging Halloween is no more what I read about in American novels. It’s so much something that I look at every year and wish I can participate in. This year thanks to Swati I made this loaf and I must say I am much more comfortable baking bread than baking a cake. The reason being the bread gets attacked before it cools down. A far cry from being coaxed into baking a focaccia. This loaf is golden in colour and like Sawthi said they  will make especially festive dinner rolls for the holiday table. I made a loaf but I guess I did not shape the loaf well so it’s all split up but next time you bet I make sure it’s a better looking one. I halved the recipe as my oven is not big enough to contain both the trays and as I said I had no time to bake twice. I have reproduced the original recipe with which you can make half the dough into rolls, and the other half into loaves for sandwiches.

bread 1

Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons active dry yeast
  • 2/3 cup warm milk
  • 1 1/2 cups puréed pumpkin, either fresh
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 6 1/2 cups (approximately) All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
Method:
  • In a large bowl, stir yeast into water let the yeast soften.
  • Add milk, eggs(if using), pumpkin, oil, 4 cups flour, brown sugar, salt, ginger and cardamom to yeast mixture. Beat vigorously for 2 minutes.
  • Gradually add the flour, a little at a time, till the dough stiff enough to knead.
  • Turn dough out onto a floured surface. Knead till you get a  smooth, elastic dough, adding flour as necessary
  •  Put dough into an oiled bowl. Turn once to coat entire ball of dough with oil. Cover with a towel and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour.
  •  Turn dough out onto a lightly oiled work surface. Divide dough in half.
  •  Shape dough into loaves and place in well-greased 10 x 5-inch pans or, shape half into a loaf, and other half into 12 large dinner rolls.
  •  Cover with a towel and let rise until almost doubled, about 45 minutes.
  •  Bake in a preheated 375°F/180ᵒ C (its actually 190ᵒC but mine is wired to 180) oven.  The loaf is done in about 30 minutes, rolls about 20.
  •  Immediately remove bread or rolls from pans and cool on a wire rack to prevent crust from becoming soggy.
  • For a shiny crust, brush tops of bread or rolls lightly with butter.

Like I said when I bake a bread it disappears well so did this one. It was gone by the time I said I finished clicking pictures i need a better loaf for better pics( guess a bad workman hold good to me…). The girls has it with butter.

Notes:

The original recipe called for 2 eggs I did not use them.

bread 2

Linking it to Baking Partners

document.write(”);

Hi! First time here? Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here. If you are my regular visitor then Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!! I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

 Archana

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Eggless Pumpkin Yeasted Bread

  1. Swathi October 17, 2013 at 1:51 am Reply

    Beautiful bread Archana, I too love baking bread than a cake.

  2. Amrita October 20, 2013 at 5:39 pm Reply

    The bread looks lovely without the use of eggs

Leave a Reply

