Pataqueta. Valencia’ Orchard traditional bread

IMG_4751

This month for Baking Partners we had a traditional Spanish bread to bake. Marisa (Thermofan) suggested the recipe.

The bread can be made using whole wheat flour.  You guess right that is going to be my next project. I have already said that I like baking bread more than I like baking a cake.

Why?

I do not know but maybe because the girls are fond of them but when it comes to a cake they are not as enthusiastic!

Anyway when I was to make Pataqueta it was a welcome change for the kids they had escaped eating my chapattis. Bai was not there and making chapatti defeats me. So this was a win-win situation for all of us. So I must thank Swathi and Marisa for a tension free evening…J

IMG_4754

But what is Pataqueta?

According to Marisa this is traditional bread from Valencia, made since the Seventeenth Century. The Pataqueta, diminutive for “pataca” is shaped like a crescent Moon. This is the bread the inhabitants of theValencia’s Orchard used to eat when they went to work. It was firstly baked in the Moorish oven they have in theirBarraca and then in wood stoves. But this tradition unfortunately dying out as it is not frequently baked.

Marissa has said that “Pataquetas” are usually baked for the Spanish festival, “Fallas” one of their main festival. Most of Valencia’s bakers are asked to bake “pataquetas” every year in March.

The recipe is adapted from “Entre cacerolas”.

The bread has a soft crumb, a firm crust and its taste is the taste of ancient bread.

So let’s bake Pataqueta. 

Ingredients:

For the ferment

  • 100 ml water
  • 1/3 cup All purpose flour/Maida
  • 2tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar

Bread dough

  • 3 cup strong bread flour (substitute with all purpose flour/Maida)
  • 200 ml tepid water
  • 1 ¾ teaspoon fine sea salt
  • All the ferment
  • A little flour for dusting the work surface and the bread

Method:

First get the Ferment ready remember it needs 48 hours to ferment so plan accordingly.

  • Stir the yeast into the water a big mixing bowl.
  • Then add the flour and sugar and mix well. Cover with plastic film.
  • Put into the fridge overnight or up to 48 hours/2 days.

To make the Bread dough

  • You may have a moment’s panic attack as your ferment has not shown any signs of increase do not worry. In bowl, add the rest of the ingredients except the salt, and mix together.
  • When everything starts to come together into dough, turn it out onto your work surface. Ideally you should not need the flour but since mine was unmanageable especially since I was using my hand to mix it. ( Try that it’s a good way to get your irritation out, by the time the dough is the consistency it should be I am my usual sunny self 😉 . Later you will need to dust the worktop with flour.
  • Start to work the dough for about 10 minutes, then add the salt and continue kneading until smooth and elastic.  (I know it was 10 minutes I was looking at the clock. : D)
  • Divide dough into approximately 150 g pieces and then form the dough into small balls, cover with a tea towel and leave to rest for 20 minutes or until them double in size.
  • Once double flatten with the palm of the hand, putting more pressure on the edges of the dough to get a rounded shape.
  • Then with a sharp knife make a cut in and cut open from the outside. Flatten the ball and mark the cut above.
  • Place them on a baking tray and cover them again with a kitchen cloth dusted with flour. Leave to rest until them double in size, for about 1 hour.
  • Towards the end of the rising time, say 20-30 minutes, preheat the oven to 200º C / 392 F.
  • Make two cuts on the bottom before baking.
  • Sprinkle a little fine flour using a sieve or strainer.
  • Boil some water in a pan. Next, once the oven is heated in a tray pour the water then place the small wire rack. Then transfer the baking tray  with the Pataqueta  in the oven. This is Steam baking. Apparently baking like this is done professionally and the steam keeps the bread soft.
  • Bake with steam, 30 minutes at 200 °C / 392 F.
  • Cool on a wire rack.
  • Serve stuffed wit Amul butter or with a filling.

IMG_4755

 

Hi! First time here?

Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here.

If you are my regular visitor then Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!!

I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

 Archana

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Pataqueta. Valencia’ Orchard traditional bread

  1. Marisa November 21, 2013 at 4:09 am Reply

    You’ve touched my heart. Your attempts to bake pataqueta and your whole post are fantastic. Your pataquetas are beautifully baked and filled. I LOVED your girls liked them. You’ve baked 4 times. It’s wonderful. I rather prefer baking bread than cakes. It relaxes me. Thanks a lot for sharing this challenge and for your kind words.
    Only one mistake. In your pics you’ve written “pataquata” instead of pataqueta. Oops!
    Hope to share more bread challenges with you. I also have bread recipes in my site. Feel free to copy or ask any question if you like one of them
    Cheers from Valencia.

    • themadscientistskitchen November 24, 2013 at 4:17 pm Reply

      Oo! Iam sorry about the mistake in spelling. How do i correct it? As for the bread it was amazing. Thanks a lot for sharing it with us.

  2. swathiiyer November 21, 2013 at 5:56 am Reply

    Delicious you made perfectly I love it, I am sending you few other codes.

  3. […] filling one word that I kept thinking about when we baked the Pataqueta for Baking Partners. Then there were some discussions on the Baking Partners group. Then my friend Mireille, no sorry […]

  4. Spicy Paneer and Baby Corn | July 25, 2015 at 3:50 pm Reply

    […] filling one word that I kept thinking about when we baked the Pataqueta for Baking Partners. Then there were some discussions on the Baking Partners group. Then my friend Mireille, no sorry […]

Leave a Reply

