Spicy Paneer and Baby Corn

IMG_4748

The filling one word that I kept thinking about when we baked the Pataqueta for Baking Partners. Then there were some discussions on the Baking Partners group. Then my friend Mireille, no sorry Chef Mireille is hosting an event on chillies.

Hot ones not the wimpy peppers…

Naturally I wanted to send my entry. I made something from a cookbook it looked awesome… in the cookbook. In reality it looked like well … not so good!! Well so no picture. Wish I had clicked but I was disappointed and did not want to click.

May be my substitutions of tofu with paneer and fresh red chillies with fresh green was a no no.  So I had to convert it but first let’s see the basic that I made.

The ingredients were
  • 50 grms green chillies
  • ½  tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tblspn vinegar
  • 125 grms paneer, sliced
  • ½ tsp  light soya sauce
Method:
  • Coarsely crush the chillies and keep overnight in a glass jar with salt, sugar and vinegar.
  • Next day mix the paneer with the chillies and the soya sauce.
  • Steam for 5 minutes.

Now like I said the paneer did not look appealing and knowing my kids I was sure that either it will all be over by the time I get home from work or it will have permanent residency in the fridge.

Sure enough it was in the fridge.

So the paneer got a face lift.

I used
  • 4 onions, chopped fine
  • 6 cloves garlic , medium sized, crushed
  • ½  inch ginger, grated
  • 4 baby corn, sliced
  • All the paneer above
  • 1 tblspn Ching’s soya  sauce
  • ½ cup tomato ketchup
  • Salt
  • ½ tsp sugar
  • Oil
  • ½ green capsicums, sliced thin
  • Coriander too garnish
Method:
  • Heat the oil add the ginger and garlic and fry till you get a lovely aroma.
  • Add the onion and fry till translucent.
  • Add the baby corn slices and cook covered for 2-3 minutes.
  • Add the tomato ketchup, soya sauce, salt, sugar. Mix well.  Cook on low flame for 2 minutes. Take care the mixture does not burn.
  • Add the paneer and mix. Switch off the flame. Check the seasonings and keep covered for 10 minutes.
  • Serve stuffed in bread with the capsicum and coriander or a roti as a filling.

IMG_4757

Enjoy your no complaints meal and rejoice that you rescued a dish from the bin.

Hi! First time here?

Well then you are Most Welcome! I hope you keep coming back for more here.

If you are my regular visitor then Thanks, for you encourage me to experiment more!!

I would like you to please click on my link below and like my Face Book page. I will be happy if you can follow me on Twitter too!

 Archana

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spicy Paneer and Baby Corn

  1. Namrata November 29, 2013 at 8:51 am Reply

    paneer and baby corn is a classic combination… love the flavors.

Leave a Reply

